i want to go to there – ashford castle

While watching the premiere of Downton Abbey the other night, I was struck with the desire to travel somewhere in Great Britain that has the elegance and decadence of Downton.  Honestly though, even with all the soap opera drama they’ve got going on both upstairs and downstairs, I’d love to taste that lifestyle even if only for a week.   I see myself relaxing by a fire while I sip tea (Darjeeling with a touch of milk, please), finally delving into the stack of unread books I have accumulated over the years but haven’t had time to read, and take long afternoon strolls through the woods and gallop on a horse through fields.

My whole family lives in England, so, I have seen most of the English countryside, but I have yet to venture up to Ireland.  Ashford Castle fits my bill to a T.  Built in 1228 right on Ireland’s second largest lake in Mayo, this castle has every activity you could possibly hope for while trying to recreate the Downton life.  Falconry, check. Horseback riding, check. Archery, check.  And at night you can take off those wellies and Barbour coats and slip into some evening wear and sip on cocktails and dine in one of their elegant dining rooms.   And in the morning you can head down to the spa for a massage.   I’ve made up my mind, this is my next vacation…

Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 9.12.30 AM

It almost doesn’t even look real it’s so perfect.

Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 9.13.39 AM

Yes, I could happily live here.  I would set up a croquet course on that front lawn and have my friends over for Pimms Cups and tea sandwiches… Wellie would be romping around wagging his tail with delight. Yep, this would work well for me!

Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 9.14.33 AM

Oh, hey there Carson!

Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 9.47.05 AM

Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 10.08.44 AM

Come on… really?!

Lost in my dreams, but, Cheers!

Jenna & Wellie

One thought on “i want to go to there – ashford castle

Leave a comment